Stay Connected


Blasters Slam Way To 7-2 Series Finale Win

08/14/2016 4:51 PM -

GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas - The AirHogs fell 7-2 in their Grand Prairie season finale Sunday to the Joplin Blasters. Mark Krueger and Conor Sullivan each went deep to fuel the win for the visitors.

Joplin boarded 3 against AirHogs starter Carlos Misell in the 1st before Krueger blasted off for the team’s 1st grand slam of 2016 to make 4-0 early.

The AirHogs were able to get to Joplin starter Luis Gonzalez for a run on a hit, a walk and an error in the bottom of the 2nd to trim the lead to 4-1. Brian Bistagne scored on a defensive miscue by Blasters shortstop Alex Polston. The run was the 5th of the series for Bistagne.

The Blasters quickly struck back in the top of the 3rd though. A leadoff double by Brandon Tierney started the frame against Misell. Three batters later, Sullivan went to right for a 3-run blast, his 5th of the season, to run the score to 7-1.

The AirHogs boarded just 1 against the lefty Gonzalez from the 3rd through the 6th. The team did get to relief man Roby Romero for a tally on an RBI base hit by Cory Morales in the 8th but could get no closer than 7-2.

The win was the 2nd of the season for Gonzalez, who allowed just 2 hits over 7 frames. The loss was the 7th of the year for Misell, who was relieved by Tyler Ihrig in the 6th. Ihrig, Trey Masek, and Tyler Harris combined to throw 3 ⅓ scoreless innings to finish the game.

The AirHogs open a 3-game set starting tomorrow in Laredo at Uni-Trade Stadium. First pitch vs. the Lemurs is expected at 7:05. LHP Griffin Russell is expected to start.

A live radio broadcast will be available at mixlr.com/TXAirHogs.


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »