Stay Connected


AirHogs Blank Redhawks For First Win Of Regular Season

05/21/2017 8:56 PM -

GRAND PRAIRIE -- The Texas AirHogs scored their 1st victory of the 2017 regular season Sunday at AirHogs Stadium, shutting out the Fargo-Moorhead Redhawks by a final of 2-0. Scott Firth, Michael Freeman, TJ Bozeman and Luis De La Cruz combined to hold Fargo scoreless and to just 4 hits in earning the win.

Firth got the start and starred over 6 innings, scattering 4 hits while striking out 4. The AirHog offense built him a lead with the only 2 runs of the game in the bottom of the 3rd. Alvaro Rondon started the inning with 1 of 5 walks in the game for Fargo starter Michael O’Neal. Trevor Sealey advanced him to 3rd with a base hit before Beamer Weems drew a walk to load the bases. Jake Luce then brought in Rondon with a fielder’s choice, and Denis Phipps picked up an RBI by plating Sealey with a single.


Michael Freeman fired a scoreless 7th inning before TJ Bozeman entered to blank the Redhawks in the 8th. Luis De La Cruz finished the evening by striking out the side in the 9th, earning his 1st save of the season in the process. AirHog pitchers combined to strikeout 9. The team’s bullpen did not allow a hit or a run and has now thrown 8 straight scoreless innings.

Firth, a Clemson alum and former Colorado Rockies minor leaguer, picked up his 1st win, while O’Neal, who surrendered 2 earned runs on 3 hits and 5 walks in 6 innings, took the loss. The AirHogs (1-3) welcome their South Division rivals the Wichita Wingnuts (3-1) to town tomorrow at 7:05. LHP Griffin Russell is expected to start for Texas, while the RHP Tyler Kane will get the start for Wichita.

Single-game tickets for the 2017 season are available for purchase online now. For the latest information on the Texas AirHogs follow them on Facebook and visit airhogsbaseball.com.




Search Archive »

Browse by Year »