Stay Connected


AirHogs Strike Late To Take Wichita Opener

08/18/2017 10:05 PM -

WICHITA -- The Texas AirHogs took the opener in Wichita in comeback finish Friday, scoring 3 times in the 8th and 9th to win 4-3. Starter Jared Mortensen pitched 8 innings to get his 7th win of 2017.

The AirHogs got out to a 1-0 lead in the top of the 3rd, with Jake Taylor and Alvaro Rondon executing a hit and run to perfection that scored Taylor all the way from 1st. Wichita roared back, tallying an unearned run vs. Mortensen later in the 3rd before DH Zac Fisher smacked a leadoff home run in the 4th and a 2-out double in the 5th to make it a 3-1 advantage for the home team.

Alex Boshers, the starter for Wichita, pitched into the 8th, where Beamer Weems took him for a leadoff solo blast, his 8th of the season and 3rd in the last 3 games. His homer made it 3-2. Rondon drew a 2-out walk from Boshers later in the frame before Casio Grider moved him to 3rd with a single. Facing James Campbell, Levi Scott tied the game with a single of his own that scored Rondon.

Back-to-back singles by Ryan Wagner and Weems off Ryan Kussmaul made it men on the corners for the AirHogs in the 9th. Taylor then put the team ahead with a sacrifice fly to left center.

Mortensen went 8 for the 2nd straight start, scattering 6 hits and allowing 3 runs (2 earned). He struck out 6 without issuing a walk. He improved to 7-1 with the win. Kussmaul dropped to 5-5 with the loss. Rob Tasin stranded a man on 1st to earn his 4th save of the season in the 9th.

8 of the 9 spots in the order had hits for Texas. The AirHogs outhit the Wingnuts, the Association’s best offense, 10-6.

The AirHogs (34-49) look to clinch the series tomorrow at 7:05 behind RHP Leuris Gomez (4-3, 4.65 ERA). Wichita (50-33) is expected to start Danny Gutierrez (0-0, 0.00 ERA). A live stream of the game will be available at mixlr.com/TXAirHogs.

Tickets for the next AirHogs homestand, running August 21-24 vs. Salina, are available. Email info@texasairhogs.com for more details. For the latest news on the AirHogs, follow the team on Facebook and Twitter @TXAirHogs.



Search Archive »

Browse by Year »