Stay Connected


AirHogs Open Final Homestand With Wire-To-Wire Victory

08/28/2017 8:59 PM -

GRAND PRAIRIE -- The Texas AirHogs opened their final homestand of the year with a 6-1 win over the Stockade at AirHogs Stadium on Monday. New acquisition Calvin Drummond pitched 7 innings of 1-run ball, and Levi Scott picked up 3 extra-base hits to fuel the victory.

Scott picked up a triple to score Alvaro Rondon in the 1st, and Denis Phipps scored Scott with a sac fly to make it 2-0 AirHogs vs. Salina starter Jordan Cummings. The contest was delayed for approximately 35 minutes in the 4th with the AirHogs up 2 due to rain.

After the pause, the Stockade tagged Drummond for a run in the 5th before he left men on the corners. The AirHogs struck 3 times vs. Cummings with 2 outs in the 6th to put the game out of reach, with Charley Thurber picking up his 4th and 5th RBIs in the last 2 games on a triple to make it 4-1. Trevor Sealey, who finished with 3 hits, added an RBI double.

Ryan Wagner picked up an RBI in the 7th, his 3rd in the last 2 games to make it 6-1. Jesse Pratt fired 2 scoreless relief innings to finish the game. Alvaro Rondon notched 2 stolen bases to get to 53 total on the season. He now stands just 4 away from equaling the all-time single season record in the American Association.

Drummond, who was making his 1st start for Texas after being acquired in a weekend trade with Kansas City, improved to 7-3 after allowing just 4 hits and striking out 5. He now owns a 7-3 overall record. Cummings slipped to 1-6 with the loss.

Texas (39-54) takes on Salina (18-75) in Game 2 tomorrow. 1st pitch is slated for 11:05 am. RHP Leuris Gomez (4-4, 4.19 ERA) is expected to start for Texas. RHP David Gates (1-0, 5.03 ERA) is expected to start for Salina. A live stream of the game will be available at mixlr.com/TXAirHogs and American Association Baseball TV.

Tickets for the final homestand of the year, running August 28th - September 4th, are available. Email info@texasairhogs.com for more details. For the latest news on the AirHogs, follow the team on Facebook and Twitter @TXAirHogs.

Search Archive »

Browse by Year »