Stay Connected


AirHogs Drop Game 2 vs. T-Bones, Rubber Match Tomorrow

06/06/2018 10:05 PM -


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas – The Texas AirHogs dropped the second of the three-game set vs. Kansas City 8-0 at AirHogs Stadium Wednesday night.

Shortstop Chen Chen led the way for the AirHogs offensively with three of the team’s six hits. Left fielder Dillon Thomas continued his streak of consecutive contests with an extra-base hit, doubling in the fourth to run the count to nine. He will have a chance tomorrow to finish every game of the ten-game homestand with an extra-base hit.

Second baseman Dylan Tice and right fielder Todd Cunningham took AirHogs starter Tyler Matzek for a single and a triple respectively to start the game and build a 1-0 lead for the T-Bones. First baseman Nick Torres followed immediately with a sacrifice fly to grow the lead to 2-0 after three batters.

Matzek settled in to fire four straight scoreless innings from the second through the fifth before Kansas City got to him in the sixth for two more runs. Newly-signed relief pitcher Julio Eusebio pitched a scoreless seventh before Kansas City got the bats going once again against Liu Yu, going off for four runs in the eighth to seal the win.

Barrett Astin (3-0) picked up the win for Kansas City, going six innings and limiting the AirHogs to just five hits. James Buckelew allowed one hit and no runs, earning his first save of the year by pitching the seventh through the ninth.

The AirHogs (3-15) and T-Bones (10-8) will meet in a rubber match tomorrow at 7:05. RHP Gan Quan (0-3, 6.19 ERA) is expected to start for the AirHogs. RHP Tommy Collier (1-2, 5.09 ERA) will get the ball for the T-Bones. A live broadcast will be available at mixlr.com/TXAirHogs and americanassociationbaseball.tv. 

Individual tickets for the 2018 season are on sale now. The AirHogs – powered by Beijing Shougang Eagles, will close the ten-game homestand tomorrow. Visit AirHogsBaseball.com for more information. For the latest news, follow the team on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @TXAirHogs. Media inquiries: jzanaboni@texasairhogs.com. 




Search Archive »

Browse by Year »