Stay Connected


Series Finale Slips Away vs. Saltdogs

06/14/2018 10:22 PM -


GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas – The Texas AirHogs took an early lead but could not hold on in the finale of the four-game set vs. the Lincoln Saltdogs Thursday, falling 4-2. Texas remains in town this weekend for a three-game series vs. the Wichita Wingnuts.

The AirHogs got out to a 1-0 advantage in the second vs. Lincoln starter Michael Tamburino. Dillon Thomas reached to start the inning with a walk and moved first to third on a base hit by Stewart Ijames. He would score on a double play hit into by Du Xiaolei.

Miguel Rosario got the start for Texas and escaped a no-out, bases-loaded jam in the first. He would leave a man on third in each of the first three innings before facing the minimum in the fourth. In the fifth, he surrendered a three-run home run to Cesar Valera that gave Lincoln a lead it would not relinquish.

Yang Yanyong and Zheng Chaoqun combined for 3.2 innings of scoreless relief behind Rosario. Zheng was particularly impressive, putting away six straight (three via strikeout). 

The AirHogs got on the board again in the sixth when Lu Zhenhong led off with an infield single, moved first to third on a passed ball, and scored on an RBI base hit by Correlle Prime. 

Texas would not score again though, and after Lincoln (17-10) added an insurance run vs. Ricky Eusebio, Jose Jose notched his second save of the series (third of the season) with a 1-2-3 ninth. 

Tamburino (3-0) earned the win after limiting the AirHogs to two runs (two earned) over six innings. Rosario (0-4) suffered the loss after allowing three runs (three earned) on seven hits. He struck out six and walked three.

Texas (5-20) and Wichita (14-12) open the three-game series tomorrow at 7:05. Starters for both teams are TBA.

The AirHogs – powered by Beijing Shougang Eagles will take on the Wingnuts to close the current seven-game homestand. Visit AirHogsBaseball.com for more information. For the latest news, follow the team on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @TXAirHogs. Media inquiries: jzanaboni@texasairhogs.com.




Search Archive »

Browse by Year »