Stay Connected


AirHogs Return Home After Tough Fargo Finale

06/28/2018 3:45 PM -


FARGO, N.D. – The Texas AirHogs completed their ten-day, eight-game road trip at Newman Outdoor Field Thursday, dropping the finale of the long road swing 13-1 to the RedHawks. The AirHogs finish the trip 3-5 and return home for a three-game set starting tomorrow vs. Sioux Falls. 

Texas got to Fargo starter Will Solomon for one run on two hits in the first to get out to an early lead. American Association slugging percentage and extra-base hit leader Dillon Thomas picked up his 26th RBI of the year with a sacrifice fly to score Song Yunqi, who led the frame off with a ground rule double down the right field line. 

But from there, it was all Fargo. The RedHawks tagged starter Meng Weiqiang (3-4) for five runs (four earned) over the first two innings to steal the lead. The RedHawks proceeded to get to relief men Liu Yu, Ran Song, Lu Yusong, and Qi Xin for eight more runs from the third through the eighth to run away with the win. 

Chen Junpeng was the only AirHog to reach twice (walk and single) vs. Solomon (4-4), who limited Texas to just two hits after the first. He twirled the fourth complete game of his three-year RedHawks career in picking up the win.

Eight of nine spots in the Fargo order reached base at least twice in the game. Brennan Metzger and Charlie Valerio each hit home runs to pace the RedHawks, who racked up 19 hits.

Texas (8-28) will open a three-game series vs. the Sioux Falls Canaries at AirHogs Stadium tomorrow at 7:05. LHP Tyler Matzek (0-4, 6.88 ERA) is expected to start for Texas. The starter for Sioux Falls is TBA. The home game will be the first for the AirHogs since June 17. A live broadcast of the game will be available at mixlr.com/TXAirHogs and americanassociationbaseball.tv.

The AirHogs – powered by Beijing Shougang Eagles return home Friday vs. Sioux Falls. Tickets for all home games are available. Visit AirHogsBaseball.com for more information. For the latest news, follow the team on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @TXAirHogs. Media inquiries: jzanaboni@texasairhogs.com.




Search Archive »

Browse by Year »